National Girls Performer Of The Week (10/24-10/30)

* Chiara Dailey (left) won the eighth NPOTW poll for the cross country season;  Irene Riggs (right) is a nominee for week nine of the season

- - -

Chiara Dailey put together a solid performance at the Mt. SAC Cross Country Invitational last weekend. La Jolla's (CA) freshman won the three-mile combined Divison 3-4-5 team sweepstakes race in 16:58. On Friday, she was the only girl who broke 17-minutes on this course.

Her performance stood out amongst the crowd as she earned a 146 speed rating for her efforts.

The public rallied behind her as she earned 38 percent of the votes throughout the week to be named this week's National Girls Performer Of The Week. 

After a loaded weekend of state championships, it's now time to vote for our next winner. 

We will recognize a winner every week in this poll, with nominations handed out on Monday. The poll will end on Friday and winners will be announced the following Monday. 


VOTE: National Girls Performer Of The Week (Oct. 24 - 30)

Here are the nominations for the National Girls Performer Of The Week Poll:

Irene Riggs, Morgantown (WV): At the WV State Cross Country meet, Riggs put together an impeccable performance as she raced to a 167 speed rating (the highest speed rating by any girl this season) as she clocked a 16:32.32 personal best to win her third straight state title. She led Morgantown to the team title with 32 points. 

Lily Cridge, Bishop Chatard (IN): Cridge raced to her second straight IHSAA State Cross Country Championship title in 17:14.60 to take down a loaded field. She earned a 152 speed rating for her efforts. 

Brooke Wilson, Valor Christian (CO): Wilson earned her first Colorado 5A state cross country title in a 16:59.20 to take down Brie Oakley's 17:07 course record. She became the first runner ever to break 17 minutes on the new Penrose course.

Ella Hagen, Summit (CO): The sophomore clocked a 17:48 to win the Colorado 4A state title with a 140 speed rating. 

Addison Ritzenhein, Niwot (CO): The freshman finished second overall and led Niwot to the team title with 20 points at the Colorado 4A State Cross Country Championships. 

Andie Aagard, Lone Peak (UT): At the Utah State Cross Country Championships, the junior won her first 6A girls title in 17:26.60. She won the title by nearly 20-seconds. Meanwhile, she led Lone Peak to the team title with 30 points and an 18:13 average. Her performance earned her a 141 speed rating. 

Jane Hedengren, Timpview (UT): Sophomore Hedengren clocked the fastest time of the day at the Utah 5A Cross Country Championships with a 17:25.40 while she earned a 142 speed rating. 

Emily Bush, Saratoga Springs (NY): The star junior led Saratoga Springs to an impressive team title at the Suburban Council Championships at Saratoga Spa Park. Bush crossed the finish line in 17:12.88 for three miles to win the individual title. 

Ciara O'Shea, Madison Central (KY): The blue-chip star won her fifth straight Kentucky Class 3A cross country title, dating back to her eighth-grade season. This was her second-fastest performance of the season. 

Paityn Noe, Ballard (IA): The senior clocked a season's best at the Iowa 3A Cross Country Championships with a 16:48.58 to set a new personal best and Lakeside Municipal Golf Course record. Her performance equaled a 157 speed rating. 

NPOTW Winners