Weekend Rundown: Katelyn Tuohy Wins First Ever NYSPHSAA Cross Country Title

Flo50 Top Teams Reign Supreme 

Class A


North Rockland sophomore Katelyn Tuohy has added another win to her undefeated season. This time it was the New York State Public High School Athletic Association cross country Class A state title. It was the first ever individual state win for a girl from North Rockland. Heading into the race, Tuohy was the favorite -- as she's ranked Flo50 No. 1 -- but she had some tough competition in Flo50 No. 4 Kelsey Chmiel from Saratoga Springs.

But Tuohy earned the win anyway, running a course record time of 17:51.4 at 5K, while Chmiel placed second in 18:32.2. Rounding out the top three was Flo50 No. 25 Claire Walters from Fayetteville-Manlius (FM), who finished the course in 19:11.6.

Walters led the Flo50 No. 1 FM girls to the team title with 24 points for the win. They placed third, fourth, fifth, sixth, and 10th. The Flo50 No. 13 Shenendehowa girls were led by Wisconsin commit Hannah Reale, who finished second with 79 points, while Tuohy's North Rockland girls took third.


The boys class A race saw another fierce team battle between two of the nation's best teams in Flo50 No. 9 Fayetteville-Manlius (FM) boys and the Flo50 No. 19 Corning boys. The race was separated by two points, with Corning pulling off the upset 38-40. 

Corning finished first, fourth, fifth, tenth and 18th, while FM was second, third, ninth, 12th and 14th. The boys from Niskayuna rounded out the top three teams, scoring 88 points.

Winning the overall individual title was Ithaca's Silas Derfel. The recent Syracuse signee ran 16-flat to take the win over Warwick Valley sophomore Behailu Bekele-Arcuri, who ran 16:19.7 for second place. Quinn Nicholson of Corning rounded out the top three in 16:21.

Class B

Katherine Lee, who has been on and off the Flo50 rankings all season, took home her third individual cross country title win in 20:07.9. The Shoreham Wading River senior was 21 seconds ahead of second-place Noreen Guilfoyle from Mount Sinai, who ran 20:21.6.

John Jay-Cross River won the team title with 57 points over East Aurora, who placed second with 90. 

Pittsford-Mendon senior and Syracuse signee Nathan Lawler ran the fastest overall time at state, punching home an effort of 15:58.2 to earn his second straight title in Class B. 

In the boys race, both the favorites came away with the win. The Flo50 No. 10 Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake boys captured the team title scoring 25 points. 

Related Links: