2018 USTFCCCA High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year

Great Oak High School's Doug Soles after his guys team placed second at NXN. 

NEW ORLEANS - The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the state-by-state winners of its fourth annual High School Coach of the Year award for cross country on Wednesday.

One boys coach and one girls coach from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia - as seen in the lists below - were honored for their successes during the fall of 2018, as selected by a committee of experts from around the nation. 

The full lists and more on the selection process can be seen below.

2018 USTFCCCA Boys Cross Country Coaches Of The Year

AlabamaEd WrightMontgomery Catholic Preparatory School
AlaskaTara EdwardsGrace Christian School
ArizonaTrina PainterFlagstaff High School
ArkansasMike PowerBentonville High School
CaliforniaDoug SolesGreat Oak High School
ColoradoMark StenbeckDakota Ridge High School
ConnecticutChris StonierXavier High School
DelawareDan O'ConnellSt Andrew's School
District of ColumbiaJohn AusemaGonzaga College High School
FloridaMike RiveraThe Bolles School
GeorgiaNick WansleySouth Forsyth High School
HawaiiJared WelchMaui High School
IdahoCecil JacksonSalmon Jr/Sr High School
IllinoisChris KuntzWheaton Warrenville South High School
IndianaColin AltevogtCarmel High School
IowaAaron ThomasGilbert High School
KansasCurtis MorganBuhler High School
KentuckyScott HolzknechtTrinity High School
LouisianaPete BoudreauxCatholic High School
MaineTed HutchYork High School
MarylandGiovanni ReumanteNorthwood High School
MassachusettsDon HennigarNewburyport High School
MichiganJeff SchemberCaro High School
MinnesotaJamie KirkpatrickEdina High School
MississippiGreg WarnickTupelo Christian Preparatory School
MissouriMichael DierksRockhurst High School
MontanaCasey JermynBozeman High School
NebraskaBrie PulecMalcolm Junior/Senior High School
NevadaChris MartinezCentennial High School
New HampshireMike SmithMascenic Regional High School
New JerseySean McCaffertyChristian Brothers Academy
New MexicoRob HipwoodLos Alamos High School
New MexicoKathy HipwoodLos Alamos High School
New YorkBill ArisFayetteville-Manlius High School
North CarolinaRick SpencerWeddington High School
North DakotaShane WahlstromWilliston High School
OhioJeff HowardWoodridge High School
OklahomaKelly BeckPiedmont High School
OregonDave FrankCentral Catholic High School
PennsylvaniaCarl PennellJenkintown Middle/High School
Rhode IslandJim DoyleBishop Hendricken High School
South CarolinaMax MayoHilton Head Island High School
South DakotaEric PooleyLincoln High School
TennesseeMarshall SmithBrentwood Academy
TexasJuris GreenThe Woodlands
UtahJeff HuntMonticello High School
VermontEric LangevinEssex High School
VirginiaMarc HunterLoudoun Valley High School
WashingtonMatt RexusKamiakin High School
West VirginiaHolli VaughanRitchie County High School
WisconsinMike JovanovichNeenah High School
WyomingRyan BergerEvanston High School

2018 USTFCCCA Girls Cross Country Coaches Of The Year

AlabamaNaomi BerghAuburn High School
AlaskaMerry EllefsonJuneau-Douglas High School
AlaskaTristan Knutson-LombardoJuneau-Douglas High School
ArizonaTrina PainterFlagstaff High School
ArkansasBill BurgeHarrison High School
CaliforniaBill ReevesClaremont High School
ColoradoKelly ChristensenNiwot High School
ConnecticutBrian HayesImmaculate High School
DelawareJim FischerUrsuline Academy
District of ColumbiaEmily FarrarWoodrow Wilson High School
FloridaMike PhillipsLawton Chiles High School
GeorgiaJack ColemanMarietta High School
HawaiiDerek CoryellHawaii Baptist Academy
IdahoJeff HorsleySoda Springs High School
IllinoisDan IversonNaperville North High School
IndianaPhil YoderCarroll High School
IowaChad WillefordSoutheast Polk High School
KansasChris McAfeeMill Valley High School
KentuckyKirk ThomasOldham County High School
LouisianaMark LaHayeSt. Joseph's Academy
MaineMike BurlesonBonny Eagle High School
MarylandJosh DawsonNorthern High School
MassachusettsMarc SaucierLittleton High School
MichiganKevin BreenClarkston High School
MinnesotaHeather StraitSt. Michael-Albertville High School
MississippiTim McDanielSt. Patrick Catholic High School
MissouriJesse GriffinLee's Summit West High School
MontanaAnders BrookerHellgate High School
NebraskaGeorge O'BoylePius X Catholic High School
NevadaTodd MahlkeSpring Creek High School
New HampshireJoe ScascitelliExeter High School
New JerseySean WalshNorth Hunterdon High School
New MexicoAdam KedgeAlbuquerque Academy
New YorkArt KranickSaratoga Springs High School
New YorkLinda KranickSaratoga Springs High School
North CarolinaKirk WalshCuthbertson High School
North DakotaJason EdwardsDavies High School
OhioJessie MagotoMinster High School
OklahomaTerry StuppBishop Kelley High School
OregonCarol McLatchieSummit High School
PennsylvaniaJohn NeffNorth Allegheny Senior High School
Rhode IslandJeff RosePortsmouth High School
South CarolinaAshley PerryD.W. Daniel High School
South DakotaDon RayDeubrook Junior / Senior High School
TennesseeBobby HolcombeWebb School of Knoxville
TexasNicholas BentonCoppell High School
UtahCody MoatMillard High School
VermontScott BlissChamplain Valley Union High School
VirginiaDan KingHidden Valley High School
WashingtonDempsey OrtegaNorth Central High School
West VirginiaLarry CassadyWilliamstown High School
WisconsinRichard RaneyMuskego High School
WyomingJeff BrazilJackson Hole High School

Selection Process:

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams' performances throughout the 2018 cross country season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams' performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing his or her achievements.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association's National High School Cross Country Coach of the Year award. One boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be selected by a panel of experts and be announced later this month as the national winners.