Raevyn Rogers Wins The 2017 Bowerman Award

By Gordon Mack, FloTrack

Oregon's Raevyn Rogers has been named The Bowerman award winner for the 2017 NCAA season.

Rogers is the fifth Oregon Duck to win the award joining Galen Rupp (2009), Ashton Eaton (2010), Laura Roesler (2014) and Jenna Prandini (2015).

Rogers' 2017 Resume:

  • Broke the 27-year-old NCAA record in the 800m with a stunning 1:59.10 at Mt. SAC Relays; Suzy Favor's previous record had stood at 1:59.11 since 1990
  • Was untouchable in the 800m at the collegiate level, winning NCAA Division I indoor and outdoor titles and the Pac-12 title
  • Helped Oregon break the 13-year-old NCAA record in the 4x400m by splitting 49.77 on the anchor leg for a winning time of 3:23.13; her split was the sixth-fastest in meet history
  • Helped Oregon break the collegiate record in the sprint medley relay (3:30.05) with a 2:02.44 split