Throwback Thursday: Corey Wren Drops Blazing Fast 100m

Last week, John Curtis' (LA) Corey Wren was expected to run at New Balance Nationals Indoor. The FSU signee for football had one of the top marks in the country in the 60m and his time of 6.76 seconds was the seventh-fastest time for the 2020 indoor season. But he never got this chance after NBNI was canceled due to the outbreak of the coronavirus across the country. 

A year ago, Wren had his breakout outdoor race, competing in the Allstate Sugar Bowl Classic in New Orleans, Louisiana. He won the race with a blazing time of 10.41 seconds, which at the time was the country's second fastest time and marked his personal best. His time was also Louisiana's second-fastest time in the state and was ranked 38th in the nation. 

With the current state of coronavirus across the US, the 2020 meet has been canceled and will continue in March of 2021. 

Section  2 Finals   Wind: 1.0                                                   
  1 Corey Wren                11 Curtis, John             10.41   10            
  2 Jamal Morris              12 Landry/Walker            10.62    8            
  3 Antonio Lay               12 Christian Brothers       10.80    6            
  4 Deontre Ford              12 Edna Karr                10.80    4            
  5 Emmanuel Bynum            12 Whitehaven               10.81    2            
  6 Lance Williams            12 Curtis, John             10.88    1            
  7 Kayshon Boutte            11 Westgate                 10.97                 
  8 Jereun Wagner             11 Ruston                   11.02                 
  9 Clydeterrious Thompson    11 Bogalusa                 11.27

Updated Meet Information (CANCELED):

March 13, 2020: By order of the Governor of the State of Louisiana, because of the coronavirus,  gatherings of more than 250 people have been banned in the state until at least April 13th, therefore the 2020 Allstate Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic has been canceled.  Thank you for your understanding and please join us next year from March 26-27.

Related Links: