Vote For FloTrack American Distance Coach Of The Year

Coach of The Year Nominee:


Distance Coach | U.S. Army World Class Athlete Program (Portland, OR)

American Distance Athletes:
Paul Chelimo, Shadrack Kipchirchir, Leonard Korir

2016 Accomplishments:
3 U.S. Olympians (2 Events)
1 U.S. Olympic Medal (Men's 5,000m Silver)

2016 U.S. Top 10 Ranks:
No. 1 Men's 5000m (13:03.90 -- Chelimo)
No. 2 and No. 7 Men's 10,000m (27:35.65 -- Korir, 27:58.32 -- Kipchirchir)

Over the past year, Dan Browne has coached all three of his athletes to first-time Olympic berths and one Olympic silver medal--all while serving in the United States Army. 

Browne, a 2004 Olympian who completed the tough 10K/marathon double in Athens, coaches Paul Chelimo, Shadrack Kipchirchir and Leonard Korir while all four serve under the U.S. Army's World Class Athlete Program. By joining the U.S. Army, the Kenyan-born athletes were able to gain U.S. citizenship and eventually represent the United States on the Olympic stage. 

Browne is a former WCAP member himself and is now a major in the Oregon National Guard on active duty. All of the WCAP athletes have a job, a military occupational specialty and all members go through Army basic training for 10 weeks and then move on to specific training for their respective areas of expertise. Despite the demands of being a member of the U.S. Army, Browne guided Chelimo, Kipchirchir and Korir to earn spots on the Olympic team and claim standout performances in Rio. 

Just one second behind double Olympic champion Mo Farah, Chelimo threw down a massive kick to earn a silver medal in Rio. Korir and Kipchirchir each competed in the 10K and came away with season's bests when they finished 14th and 19th, respectively.

- Taylor Dutch

FloTrack Coach of the Year Schedule:

Nominee #1: Mark Wetmore and Heather Burroughs
Nominee #2: Alberto Salazar
Nominee #3: Ray Treacy
Nominee #4: Lee LaBadie
Nominee #5: Drew Wartenburg
Nominee #6: Dan Browne
Nominee #7: Jerry Schumacher
Dec. 22nd - Fan voting closes
Dec. 29th - Winner is announced