Saucony Elite 50 Individual Boys Rankings Week 9

Tanner Anderson took down some big fish as he defeated Joe Hardy and John Dressel, pictured in name order. (Photo courtesy of Jennifer Vandine)

Saucony Elite 50 Individual Boys | Week 9

*Editor's Note: The Saucony Elite 50 refers to the top-50 individual in the country (25 boys and 25 girls) 

A big change occurred at the top of the rankings as a #1 is toppled for the second time this season.  Many more action packed meets occurred as well so keep on reading!

#2 Tanner Anderson rolled over some elite competiton to win states in WA with an amazing course record of 14:44.83.  #3 Joe Hardy was 2nd in 14:45.16 and #13 John Dressel finished 3rd in 14:53.36.  Tanner takes #2 as Cerake Geberkidane (CO) is moved to the #1 slot.  Joe Hardy moves to #3.

A big race at the NY state champs also added to the excitement of the weekend and adds another runner to the rankings.  #19 Bryce Millar battled for state supremacy in NY and it came down to the wire as he won with a CR of 15:06.3.  Mike Brannigan was also under the old record with a time of 15:06.6 and comes into the rankings at #20.  #21 Mickey Burke rounded out this fine race as he was also under the old record with a 3rd place time of 15:07.3.

The first NXN qualifier occurred with the Heartland Region and #10 Addison DeHaven (SD) is back on form in a big way, crushing Jake Leingang's course record of 15:16 while beating #13 Obsa Ali, 2nd in 15:11.6.

#22 Noah Kauppila (MO) won his final state championship meet with a course record clocking of 15:22, which was faster than Matt Tegenkamp ever ran.  There is debate on whether the course is easier now, but there should be no debate as to the talent of this senior!

Paul Hogan (MA) smashed the CR with a 15:08 clocking to win the Eastern Mass state champs and moves on to the state championship next weekend.  Trevor Hopper (CT) won the New England Championships in 15:08 over Alex Ostberg in 15:11 and Josef Holt-Andrews in 15:12.90.

In league action #24 Phillip Rocha (CA) once again took down teammate Estevan De La Rosa, #25 to earn a spot in the rankings.

Note: Nicholas Elswick (OH) was injured prior to the Ohio state meet and after finishing his race there ended his season.  Therefore he is being taken out of the rankings, but not for lack of running very well this year.  Best wishes Nick, see you on the track!

Stay tuned each week as we bring you the Saucony Elite 50 Individual Boys every Tuesday morning!

Rank Time Year Name School State
1 14:47.20 Sr.  Cerake Geberkidane Denver East CO
2 14:44.83 Jr.  Tanner Anderson North Central WA
3 13:55 3.0M Sr.  Joe Hardy Seattle Prep WA
4 14:46.50 Sr. Blake Haney Stockdale CA
5 14:24 3.0M Sr. Patrick Perrier O'Fallon IL
6 14:54 Sr. Aaron Templeton Hardin Valley TN
7 14:27 3.0M Sr.  Tal Braude Torrey Pines CA
8 14:29 3.0M Sr. Garrett Corcoran Villa Park CA
9 14:34 3.0M So Austin Tamagno Brea Olinda CA
10 15:08.9 Sr.  Addison DeHaven Brookings SD
11 14:32.70 Sr.  Matthew Maton Summit OR
12 15:07.80 Sr. Mark Hadley Boardman OH
13 14:49.59 Jr. John Dressel Mt. Spokane WA
14 14:59 Sr. Tony Russell West Chester Henderson PA
15 15:11.6 Sr. Obsa Ali Richfield MN
16 14:51.65 Sr.  Kai Wilmot North Central WA
17 15:04 Sr. Steven Fahy La Costa Canyon CA
18 14:46 3.0M Sr. Levi Thomet Kodiak AK
19 15:06.3 Jr.  Bryce Millar Fayetteville-Manlius NY
20 15:06.6 Sr.  Mike Brannigan Northport NY
21 14:25 3.0M Sr. Mickey Burke Rush-Henrietta NY
22 15:13.70 Sr. Noah Kauppila Marquette MO
23 14:43 3.0M Sr. Louis Colson Thomas Edison VA
24 14:02 Sr. Phillip Rocha Arcadia CA
25 13:56 Sr. Estevan De La Rosa Arcadia CA
Watch List (Alphabetical order):  Christian Alvarado (CT); Josef Holt-Andrews (ME); Elijah Armstrong (ID); Tanis Baldwin (NC); Wolfgang Beck (WA); Matthew Brafford (WV); Taylor Caldwell (TN); Logan Carroll (WA); Brian Cook (NY); Steve Correa (CA); Zach Dale (IL); Austen Dalquist (TX); Brent Demarest (SC); Ricky Faure (WY); Grant Fisher (MI); Sydney Gidabuday (CA); Olin Hacker (WI); Phillip Hall (NC); Jonah Henry (WY); Paul Hogan (MA); Trevor Hopper (CT); TJ Hornberger (NY); Ben Huffman (NC); Sukhi Khosla (FL); Frank Lara (TX); Kyle Levermore (NJ); David Luna (CA); Mac Macoy (AL); Conner Mantz (UT); Wyatt Maxey (NC); Tim McGowan (NY); Connor McMillan (UT); Stuart Mcnutt (KS); Ian Milder (NC); Griffin Molino (PA); Kramer Morton (UT); Nathan Mroz (IL); Thomas O'Neill (NJ); Alex Ostberg (CT); Jacob Pickle (TX); Tristan Peloquin (WA); Phillip Rocha (CA); Nathan Rodriguez (AZ); Patrick Sheehan (NC); Cameron Stanish (WA); Alec Thomas (TN); Ryan Udvadia (NY); John Wold (IL)